Hope Jahren

The Newcomers: Finding Refuge, Friendship, and Hope in an American Classroom [Audiobook]

The Newcomers: Finding Refuge, Friendship, and Hope in an American Classroom [Audiobook] by Helen Thorpe
English | November 14th, 2017 | ASIN: B076FBZJL4, ISBN: 1520085737 | MP3@64 kbps | 15 hrs 9 mins | 416.97 MB
Narrator: Kate Handford

Offering a nuanced and transformative take on immigration, multiculturalism, and America's role on the global stage, The Newcomers follows and reflects on the lives of 22 immigrant teenagers throughout the course of their 2015-2016 school year at Denver's South High School.
Bruce Brubaker - Hope Street Tunnel Blues: Music for Piano by Philip Glass & Alvin Curran (2007) [Repost]

Bruce Brubaker - Hope Street Tunnel Blues: Music for Piano by Philip Glass & Alvin Curran (2007)
EAC | FLAC | Image (Cue&Log) ~ 224 Mb | Mp3 (CBR320) ~ 177 Mb | Scans included
Classical, Contemporary, Minimalism | Label: Arabesque | # Z6798 | 01:02:44

The piano may not be the ideal medium for capturing the expressive possibilities of Glass' style of minimalism, but pianist Bruce Brubaker selects pieces that work well on the instrument. Part of the problem with hearing Glass on the piano is forgetting the sound of his ensemble, and the variety of colors (and volume) they have imparted to similar music. Brubaker begins his recital of works by Glass and Alvin Curran with his transcription of "Knee Play 4" from Einstein on the Beach. It is in fact a lovely piece on the piano if one can put the spectacular power and tonal range of the instrumental version out of one's mind. "Opening" from Glassworks, originally scored for piano, works beautifully on the instrument, and flows as naturally as the C major Prelude from Book I of The Well Tempered Clavier. The two pieces by Curran, Hope Street Tunnel Blues III and Inner Cities II, use a syntax similar to Glass, with a more dissonant tonal vocabulary. Hope Street Tunnel Blues III has ample kinetic energy that gives it an exhilarating momentum.
Gratitude in Motion: A True Story of Hope, Determination, and the Everyday Heroes Around Us

Colleen Kelly Alexander, "Gratitude in Motion: A True Story of Hope, Determination, and the Everyday Heroes Around Us"
English | ISBN: 145557113X | 2018 | EPUB | 296 pages | 15 MB
Between Heaven and Earth: Finding Hope, Courage, and Passion Through a Fresh Vision of Heaven

Between Heaven and Earth: Finding Hope, Courage, and Passion Through a Fresh Vision of Heaven by Steve Berger
English | March 4th, 2014 | ASIN: B00DWA6BR6, ISBN: 0764211676 | 194 pages | EPUB | 1.99 MB

It's not easy separating fact from fiction when it comes to heaven, nor is it always easy to see how the afterlife can affect our lives today. After a car accident caused his nineteen-year-old son to unexpectedly enter heaven, Pastor Steve Berger chose to reject despair and commit himself to carefully studying his son's new, eternal home. He had no idea how much there was to learn, and his life hasn't been the same since. This biblical and deeply personal study of heaven will give you hope for the future.
Surprised by Hope: Rethinking Heaven, the Resurrection, and the Mission of the Church

Surprised by Hope: Rethinking Heaven, the Resurrection, and the Mission of the Church by N. T. Wright
English | May 5th, 2009 | ASIN: B0010SIPOY, ISBN: 0061551821, 0062089978 | 356 pages | EPUB | 0.54 MB

Many Christians believe our future in heaven is all that really matters. But that's not what the Bible teaches. Through this small group bible study, Surprised by Hope, premier Bible scholar N. T. Wright brings you inside the Scriptures to grasp the full, breathtaking hope Jesus offers the world, and its implications for your life today.
Gratitude in Motion: A True Story of Hope, Determination, and the Everyday Heroes Around Us [Audiobook]

Gratitude in Motion: A True Story of Hope, Determination, and the Everyday Heroes Around Us [Audiobook] by Colleen Kelly Alexander, Jenna Glatzer, Bart Yasso
English | January 16th, 2018 | ASIN: B078WZ6QFM | MP3@64 kbps | 8 hrs 11 mins | 225.53 MB
Narrator: Colleen Kelly Alexander

It was a beautiful fall day in Connecticut when Colleen Kelly Alexander, a lifelong athlete, rode her bike home from work. She had survived both a diagnosis of lupus and brain surgery, had a fulfilling career, and was married at last to the love of her life. Everything was good as she coasted along, meeting the eyes of a truck driver as he approached the stop sign beside her.
Infinite Hope: How Wrongful Conviction, Solitary Confinement, and 12 Years on Death Row Failed to Kill My Soul

Anthony Graves, "Infinite Hope: How Wrongful Conviction, Solitary Confinement, and 12 Years on Death Row Failed to Kill My Soul"
ISBN: 0807062529 | 2018 | EPUB | 224 pages | 557 KB

Courage for the Unknown Season: Navigating What's Next with Confidence and Hope  eBooks & eLearning

Posted by First1 at Jan. 16, 2018
Courage for the Unknown Season: Navigating What's Next with Confidence and Hope

Courage for the Unknown Season: Navigating What's Next with Confidence and Hope by Jan Silvious
English | October 17th, 2017 | ASIN: B06XKLPPVJ, ISBN: 1631467883 | 208 pages | EPUB | 0.66 MB

We all face seasonal changes. The passing years take us on journeys of change—whether we want it or not. In Courage for the Unknown Season, Jan Silvious acts as a wise guide for those who find themselves in new seasons of life, offering perspective and practical insights to encourage the soul and offer hope.
I Hope I Screw This Up: How Falling in Love with Your Fears Can Change the World [Audiobook]

I Hope I Screw This Up: How Falling in Love with Your Fears Can Change the World [Audiobook] by Kyle Cease
English | September 19, 2017 | ASIN: B074VGX12M, ISBN: 1543699243 | MP3@64 kbps | 5 hrs 31 mins | 206 MB
Narrator: Kyle Cease

A Stone of Hope: A Memoir [Audiobook]  eBooks & eLearning

Posted by First1 at Jan. 15, 2018
A Stone of Hope: A Memoir [Audiobook]

A Stone of Hope: A Memoir [Audiobook] by Jim St. Germain, Jon Sternfeld
English | July 4th, 2017 | ASIN: B0727RCL5X, ISBN: 1538419769 | MP3@64 kbps | 8 hrs 56 mins | 246.05 MB
Narrator: Ron Butler

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause - until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.